The Hazards of maps

Christine Spindler
3 min readFeb 18, 2021

--

After my outing to East Palo Alto, I decided to look up old redlining maps of the area. I want to overlay street tree information with historic redlining to see what emerges. The search for a redlining map of East Palo Alto became much more complicated than I imagined. I found a good source of redlining maps that cover several larger cities along the way. East Palo Alto was not one of them.

However, here is what I did find.

Richmond University (of Richmond, VA) has done an impressive job of gathering a significant amount of searchable information on redlining maps and plotted it into an easy-to-use interactive map of the US. This is part of their Mapping Inequality: Redlining in The New Deal America project.

Though I did not yet find a source for redlining maps of East Palo Alto, I took this newfound source and started to look at the East Bay from a 1937 map. A small kidney-shaped “D1” red patch in North Berkeley caught my eye on the map. Knowing Berkeley a little, I guessed it was a slide area.

Screenshot of June 15, 1937 map of the East Bay from Mapping Inequality

Robert K. Nelson, LaDale Winling, Richard Marciano, Nathan Connolly, et al., “Mapping Inequality,” American Panorama, ed. Robert K. Nelson and Edward L. Ayers, accessed February 13, 2021,https://dsl.richmond.edu/panorama/redlining/#loc=12/37.84/-122.273

Here is what I read when I looked up D1:
This is a “slide” area that has been known since 1915, at which time slides occurred as much as thirteen feet on a lot…It goes on to talk about slide risks, and notes that the area would be “best” (green) or “still desirable” (blue) were it not for the risk of landslide.

I then looked up the red area next to the bay on the northwest edge of the map. Area D3.
The majority of people in this district are of Latin extraction; Italians, Portuguese, etc… Loans in this area should be upon a highly restricted basis.

In 1937 being of Latin extraction; Italians, Portuguese etc. was marked like a landslide hazard for risk assessment. The question is, who was at risk?

--

--

Christine Spindler

Graduate student, College of Environmental Design at Berkeley. Lover of trees. Map enthusiast.